FLO-ELA is sponsored by University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust. We are running the trial with the Pragmatic Clinical Trials Unit at Queen Mary University London and are supported by the National Emergency Laparotomy Audit (NELA), which is commissioned by the Healthcare Quality Improvement Partnership. The trial has been adopted by the UK Perioperative Medicine Clinical Trials Network. The trial team is made up of anaesthetists, intensive care doctors, surgeons, statisticians, health economists, representatives of trainee doctors’ research networks and public members.

Chief Investigator

Mark Edwards 2016

Dr Mark Edwards

Consultant in Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine, University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust
Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer, University of Southampton

Senior co-investigator

Mike Grocott

Professor Mike Grocott

Professor of Anaesthesia and Critical Care Medicine
Clinical and Experimental Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton

Senior co-investigator

Rupert Pearse

Professor Rupert Pearse

NIHR Research Professor in Perioperative Medicine
Barts and The London School of Medicine & Dentistry

Grant co-applicants

Prof Monty Mythen (Anaesthesia & Crit Care, UCL), Prof Dion Morton (Surgery, Birmingham), NELA team (Dr Dave Murray and Mr Iain Anderson), QMUL Pragmatic Clinical Trials Unit, Trainee network representatives (Dr Ben Harris, Ms Marianne Johnstone), Keith Young (lay representative)